Monday, October 18, 2010

A GIRL HAS NEEDS....



I know that's not how I am supposed to be about money and material possessions but there are so many pretty things that I NEED/WANT(c'mon really is there a difference when it comes to fashion??) this fall. Here are a few:

Tuesday, October 12, 2010

HELLO ZOE!


This weekend, the Bird and I made the trek up to the Medicine City (thats Durham, NC to everyone else) to see our newest family member. A pretty little bundle of cheeks and soft skinned goodness. I had every intention of making it there for my sister's delivery but apparently babies can come at any time including the middle of the night while I am DEEP in slumber; not to mention my sister delivers her offspring in like world record time or something. So as you can see, I didn't make it for that. Holding her gave me baby fever...but that will have to wait for now.

Monday, October 11, 2010

GOOD FOR YOU....NOT ME!




"GOOD JOB MOMMY!" is what she tells me after I so kindly model for her how you are supposed to use the potty. It is almost always followed by an emphatic NO! when I tell her its her turn or on good days she will sit there and say "What you read?" and we will spend the next ten minutes reading Eric Carle and molesting touch and feel books.


**by the way I am full aware that she will hate me for posting these on the internet someday but I have at least 15 years before that - right??

Monday, October 4, 2010

BACK TO THE REAL WORLD...


It has been a great birthday weekend. 32 has been a blast so far. It actually feels funny to type that - my age - If I could not do math I am not sure that I would have a clue how old I am. Some days I feel 16 and some days I feel 60. Today I feel Good!

Here is the rundown on how I celebrated another step towards my sunset(depressing I know):

  • Spent birthday night cuddled up in the Bed with the hubby watching Fringe (I have to admit this was my favorite birthday activity...I know...but what can I say?)
  • The following Friday free from the J-O-B!!!(Employee Moral is so low at the job they are giving everyone their birthday or a day close by off with pay...Thank You!)
  • Lunch with Hubby! I had the Carlo Wrap (Grilled chicken, fresh mozzarella, roasted red peppers, lettuce, tomato, and pesto cream sauce) with a side salad - Absolutely Delish!!
  • An afternoon at the Spa! I had the Ginger Wasabi Massage and the Sole Indulgence Pedicure. Now my toes are the perfect shade of purple -that's in this fall right?
  • Dinner at Levecchia's with the girls! I had the sesame encrusted Tuna mashed potatoes and steamed veggies and you know I had the Merlot!
  • And finish with the weekend off a serenade(not for me personally but a concert) from none other than Anthony David, with his velvet voice, and Ledisi, who was OUTSTANDING!!

    Now its back to the routine of it all and I am cool with that. If I did this type of thing all the time, it wouldn't make it a special birthday now would it?
Image via

Tuesday, September 28, 2010

PUT ON YOUR PUMPS AND PARTY HAT....

Happy Birthday To Me...Happy Birthday To ME......Happy Birthday to MEEeee, Happy Birthday To ME!!!!!


image via

Monday, September 27, 2010

GO MOMMY GO.......




Go, Mommy Go! That's what my two year old little sweetheart chanted as I ran past the house(with my lungs in my hand) in an effort to prepare for my very first 5k run..........which I completed this weekend! Now keep in mind, I am not a runner (I mean really why would you run unless you were late or being chased?) but I wanted to do it(cross this off the list) and I did - because thats what I DO (redundant, I know but I need to drive the point home). So let me recap for you:

Pre-Run Preparations: Drink water, Pee, Eat a Banana/Almond Butter sandwich, Pee, Drop the kid off, Pee

Starting line: These people look really fast...oh well not everybody :)

Mile 1: Are you kidding has it only been One mile!

Mile 2: I hope there is another cheering crowd with water waiting just around the corner....

Mile 3: C'mon....just a little bit farther, legs don't fail me now, heart don't jump out my chest please....

Finish Line: I freaking Did it! Singing in my Dora Voice, "We did it, we did it, we did it, yea lo isimos. we did it!!!"

In summary, It was a great time, I feel good about myself and I freaking did it (yeah, I know redundant but again I need to drive the point home)!

Friday, September 24, 2010

WHAT NOT TO DO......


I am in the midst of a lifestyle change. No more soda-pop, no more junk food, no more watching real housewives of New York, Atlanta, and DC for hours on end (I WILL have to catch the housewives of Beverly Hills just so I can experience it - DON'T judge me!). I am going to be FIT and ACTIVE. It has been good so far. I kicked it off with the hubby and 60 days of INSANITY. I am down 15lbs and 4 inches; my jeans are baggy and I am loving it but what's more is I am motivated. I really LOVE to shop and let's be honest - plus size fashion is NOT just like, ya know, non-plus size fashion. There I said it. Does that make me shallow?

image via